Tuesday, July 12, 2011

New GPU Executive Up To the Task

GPU Executive

In its first media dispatch signed by outspoken secretary general Jibairu Janneh, the newly elected nine-member executive committee of Gambia Press Union (GPU) pledges to champion the course of freedom of expression in non-press free Gambia.

The executive committee of Gambian journalists’ umbrella body also expresses commitment to promoting the welfare of generally underpaid, ill-equipped Gambian journalists.

Cognizant of the fact that our mandate revolves around promoting the welfare of journalists and championing the course of press freedom and freedom of expression in The Gambia, we guarantee the general membership of the union, partners and the public at large of our resounding commitment to the demands of our mandate and as well solicit collective support and commitment, to advocate for our common aspirations,” the release states.   
The Foroyaa newspaper news editor, Bai Emil Touray led executive committee was on Sunday elected to run the affairs of the union for the next years at the end of a three day triennial congress.
The congress heard angry outbursts by journalists over a range of issues, including unfair employment contracts and low pay for the services of journalists.
Meanwhile, Touray replaces GPU’s first-ever female president Ndey Tapha Sosseh, who was denied the needed votes to continue her presidency for the second and final three year term. 
“This newly elected executive committee of the union therefore wishes to seize this opportunity to congratulate all members, media chiefs, partners and all other stakeholders that contributed in one way or the other to the success of the congress. We also wish to commend the previous executive body for the achievements that brought the union to this day.”
Although, the tenure of the outgoing GPU executive witnessed increased government crackdown on the media, the new executive committee assures commitment  to working closely with the government of The Gambia to ‘promote press freedom, democracy and development.’
The elected executive committee consists of the following: President: Bai Emil Touray, 1st vice president: Babucarr Ceesay, 2nd vice president: Amie Sanneh Bojang, Secretary General: Gibairu Janneh, 1st Assistant Secretary General: Madi S. Njie, 2nd Assistant Secretary General: lamin Njie, Treasurer: Haddijatou Jawara, Co-opted members: Saikou Ceesay and Sarjo Camara Singhateh.

No comments: